EndoMune Probiotics https://endomune.com Endomune Probiotics Tue, 11 Dec 2018 19:34:30 +0000 en-US hourly 1 Do Fermented Foods Really Help Your Gut? https://endomune.com/do-fermented-foods-really-help-your-gut/ Thu, 06 Dec 2018 18:30:53 +0000 https://endomune.com/?p=22096 You’ve probably read the same stories I have online and in other places promoting the value of fermented foods, from the familiar (yogurt, kombucha tea, pickles, cottage cheese, sourdough bread, soy sauce and sauerkraut) to the more exotic (tempeh and miso) to give your gut health an extra boost. Does this mean eating fermented foods delivers the same dependable gut health benefits you’d receive...

Source

]]>
Can Probiotics Reduce the Need for Antibiotics? https://endomune.com/can-probiotics-reduce-the-need-for-antibiotics/ Mon, 26 Nov 2018 17:55:53 +0000 https://endomune.com/?p=21914 If you follow our blog regularly, you’re very aware of the many problems associated with antibiotics. Patients have leaned on antibiotics so much over the years as go-to drugs to feel better in a hurry that doctors have tended to over-prescribe them. All too often, doctors will give in to their patients, even for relatively minor health problems caused by viruses (colds...

Source

]]>
Household Cleaners Could Harm Your Child’s Gut https://endomune.com/household-cleaners-could-harm-your-childs-gut/ Tue, 13 Nov 2018 21:56:17 +0000 https://endomune.com/?p=21911 Keeping your home a bit “too clean” by using common multi-surface disinfectants could be changing and harming your child’s gut bacteria by making them more susceptible to obesity. That’s the chief finding from data culled from an examination of fecal samples collected from 757 Canadian babies, along with their exposure to various cleaning products, according to a recent report in the Canadian...

Source

]]>
How Artificial Sweeteners May Hurt Your Gut Health https://endomune.com/artificial-sweeteners-may-hurt-your-gut-health/ Thu, 08 Nov 2018 18:53:08 +0000 https://endomune.com/?p=21908 Artificial sweeteners have found their way into a wide variety of foods that people — mostly processed food product like diet sodas, but even in ones they prepare at home — in their efforts to lose weight over the years. There are always tradeoffs when you make drastic changes in your diet, however, and some may not be worth it based on the state of your health.

Source

]]>
Taking a Probiotic May Protect Your Bones From Osteoporosis https://endomune.com/taking-a-probiotic-may-protect-your-bones-from-osteoporosis/ Fri, 26 Oct 2018 20:41:39 +0000 https://endomune.com/?p=21823 Many people assume bone health is a condition only older adults need to worry about. That’s not a surprise, considering how harmful falls can be to seniors. However, you may be shocked to learn that people reach their peak bone mass by age 30, and your body begins to lose more bone than it rebuilds after that. Many variables affect bone health, from hormone levels and gender to specific...

Source

]]>
The Gut-Brain Link to Depression and Obesity https://endomune.com/the-gut-brain-link-to-depression-and-obesity/ Wed, 17 Oct 2018 18:33:22 +0000 https://endomune.com/?p=21825 It wasn’t long ago that conventional medicine debated the existence of the gut-brain axis, the connection that links your emotions, intestines and brain. The medical community couldn’t dispute it for long, however, given that about 90 percent of serotonin, a chemical that sends messages from one side of the brain to the other, is produced in the human gut. Obesity and diabetes are serious...

Source

]]>
(Almost) Everything You Need to Know About Gas https://endomune.com/almost-everything-you-need-to-know-about-gas/ Thu, 11 Oct 2018 17:25:42 +0000 https://endomune.com/?p=21818 Out of the many gut-related issues patients have discussed with me over the years, problems with excess air and gas resulting in bloating, a sensation of fullness in your abdomen, are the most common by a long shot. Just to make it really clear, EVERYONE produces gas — anywhere from 1-4 pints daily and passes it about 14 times a day — and it can build up in your gastrointestinal tract.

Source

]]>
Question What You Read Everywhere! https://endomune.com/question-what-you-read-everywhere/ Mon, 24 Sep 2018 22:49:11 +0000 https://endomune.com/?p=21798 If you follow my blog and keep up with the news, you’ve heard about a pair of recent studies published in the medical journal, Cell, that found probiotics may have very limited value. Unfortunately, the mainstream media — seemingly everyone from CBS News to Forbes — jumped on the bandwagon to dispute the value of probiotics without looking at their considerable and proven benefits over...

Source

]]>
Prebiotics May Protect Your Knees From Osteoarthritis https://endomune.com/prebiotics-may-protect-your-knees-from-osteoarthritis/ Fri, 21 Sep 2018 21:37:19 +0000 https://endomune.com/?p=21659 If your joints begin to stiffen and feel painful — especially when you wake up in the morning or as swelling becomes more common — your body could be telling you that osteoarthritis may be just around the corner. Osteoarthritis is one of the most common chronic conditions that harms the joints, often affecting the lower backs, necks, small joints of fingers and the knees of nearly 10...

Source

]]>
A Healthy Gut May Protect Your Liver https://endomune.com/a-healthy-gut-may-protect-your-liver/ Fri, 14 Sep 2018 16:06:59 +0000 https://endomune.com/?p=21649 We’ve talked a lot about how the gut is so hard-wired to the body that it governs many aspects of your health behind the scenes, from the inner workings of your brain to getting a healthy night’s sleep. Your gut microbiome may also play an important role in spotting early warning signs of nonalcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD), the most common form of chronic liver disease harming patients who...

Source

]]>